Knit

Scrappy Knit Scarf – Free Knit Pattern

Behold!! My first knit pattern of 2019 (or ever!!) It’s beginner friendly and can be used to use up those scraps of yarn you’ve been wondering forever what to do with it! (Especially those leftovers from making chunky beanies and such, which by the way my Chunky Twist Earwarmer is also a good scrap buster 😉

This pattern uses simple knit and purl stitches and if you need help on how to do them you can always YouTube search and alot of awesome videos pop up about it ^-^

MATERIALS

  • Worsted Weight yarn (double strands to make it chunky) or Bulky Yarn (my favorite is Hometown USA from Lionbrand)
  • US 11 (8mm) Knitting Needles (Circular or Straight will work just fine)
  • Scissors
  • Yarn Needle (to weave in ends)
  • (OPTIONAL) Crochet Hook ( to bind off the last row)

GAUGE

2 x 2 inch square = 5 rows of 7 stitches in K1,P1 pattern

NOTES

  • If you want to make the scarf longer just repeat more rows than the pattern requires.
  • If you want to make the scarf wider just increase the CO number in the beginning of the pattern.
  • I usually donate or leave scarves around my city as a random act of kindness to keep people warm during the colder weather. You can do this or If you wish to sell items made from this pattern that’s ok too, just please link back to this pattern and credit me as the designer in the description.
  • You may NOT copy or modify this pattern to sell or claim as your own. I made this pattern to be free for beginners to learn how to knit and I intend it to stay that way. A printer friendly PDF is available for a small fee HERE
  • I knit and purl my stitches in this pattern through the front loops. I don’t know if that makes sense so the picture below describes it as best as i could on what I consider “Front” and “Back” loops (to me) if there’s a proper term for it please let me know. If you prefer to knit and purl through the back loop instead that’s fine too it might have a slight difference when it comes to how it looks in the end ^-^

ABBREVIATIONS

  • CO- Cast On (usually followed by a number and that’s how many stitches to cast on at the beginning of a pattern)
  • K- Knit (I insert my needle from the front to the back loop to knit for this pattern, if you want to insert through the front loop that’s ok too, watch video to see what I mean)
  • P- Purl (I insert my needle from the back to the front loop to purl for this pattern)
  • Sl1P- Slip 1 Stitch Purl Wise (with yarn in FRONT of work, insert needle purl wise through the front loop and slip over onto needle)  
  • Sl1K – Slip 1 Stitch knit- Wise (with yarn in BACK of work, insert needle knit wise through the front loop and slip over onto needle)

PATTERN

(Using Long Tail Cast-on)

CO 18

1- *K1,P1*, repeat * across (18)

2- Sl1K, *P1, K1*, repeat * across (18)

** Repeat Row 2 until you are satisfied with the length. (make sure to end with a Row 3)

 I made mine 60 inches long for a total of 67 rows **

To Cast off-Sl1K, then Purl the next one. You’ll have 2 stitches on the right needle now, *work the right loop on that needle over the left while also slipping it off needle*. You should now have just 1 loop on the needle. Knit the next stitch on the left needle and repeat ( * ) once. Purl the next stitch on the left needle and repeat ( * ) once.  Keep repeating this sequence like the K1, P1 in the other rows. If you need help visually then click HERE for a video reference from HappyBerry ^-^

FRINGE

Cut 18 strands of 12 inch long strands.(it will be 18 for each end)

Slip Stitch 2 strands on every odd stitch of that row (1st, 3rd, 5th, etc)

For an ad-free PDF of this pattern for easy printing, click HERE

Leave a comment